Rye Beach Committee Meeting Wednesday July 15,2020 at 5p.m. via Zoom

Members present- Mary-Ann Sullivan, Roseann Vozella Clark, Frank Hwang

Others Present – Kate Drago, Executive Assistant and by phone, Lori Carbajal - former Beach Committee Member

The Town's Executive Assistant Kate Drago read the COVID-19 Attestation to be able to hold this meeting electronically. Kate stated that the first order of business should be to elect a chair/co-chair/ and a clerk.

All members stated that they were present and in the rooms by themselves.

Frank asked Lori to give an overview of the Beach Committee and provide some background information. Mary-Ann asked Lori to explain why no one on the previous Beach Committee decided to continue serving. Lori said that there are normally four or five committee members. She suggested that the Chair Person should be the person who goes to the beach most frequently. After a brief discussion among the members positions were voted on.

Motion by Mary-Ann Sullivan to nominate Roseann Clark to serve as Clerk. Seconded by Frank Hwang. All in Favor. Roll Call Vote: Sullivan – Aye, Clark – Aye, Hwang – Aye

Motion by Mary-Ann Sullivan to nominate Frank Hwang to serve as Chair. Seconded by Roseann Clark. All in Favor. Roll Call Vote: Sullivan – Aye, Clark – Aye, Hwang – Aye.

Motion by Frank Hwang to nominate Mary-Ann Sullivan to serve as Vice-Chair. Seconded by Roseann Clark. All in Favor. Roll Call Vote: Sullivan – Aye, Clark – Aye, Hwang – Aye.

Roseann asked for clarification of how the length of each new member's term was determined. Kate explained that term length was assigned based on date of application to the committee. There are still two new members needed.

Lori further explained that normally meetings would be held at the Town Hall. There would be a time for public comment at the beginning of each meeting. The board would listen to concerns but not respond at that time taking those items under consideration. Lori went over the duties of chair/co-chair and /clerk. She stated that members should not have personal agendas or bias and be open to others' viewpoints. Lori said for example Dune Grass has been a current issue that the last Committee was working on resolving.

Mary-Ann asked about how the Beach Commission was changed to the Beach Committee and how the two differ. Lori explained that a Commission is given autonomy and a budget. A Committee is a group that is appointed by the Selectmen as an advisory board. The Beach Commission managed the beaches and the lifeguards. Currently the police have oversight at the beach and the Fire Department oversees and trains the lifeguards. As per warrant article 34 the Selectmen's Beach Committee was sunset on March 31,2020 and on April 1,2020 the Standing Beach Committee.

Lori stated that there were three other warrant articles her recollection was that they had to do with fines related to parking off 1A by Cable Road.

Roseann asked what the purview of the Beach Committee is. Frank suggested that beyond advising the Selectmen on beach related issues that warrant articles may be a way to effect change. Roseann said she should speak with Chief Walsh so that she can better understand his role in the beach matters. The group thought that was a great idea. It was suggested that the Police Chief be invited to the next meeting.

Lori asked if we had the Rye Beach Committee Charge. It was decided that the members would review the current one and bring ideas for any changes to the next meeting. Kate explained after changes are made it would go to the Selectmen for their approval.

Kate explained that the Beach Committee can't meet unless all members attend the meeting. She mentioned that since the group is so small that a meeting at Town Hall was an option. The group decided that meeting on Zoom would work best for all parties for the time being. The next meeting will be Wednesday July 29,2020 at 5 p.m. via Zoom. Kate will set up the meeting when she gets the agendas.

Frank thanked everyone. Lori said she would be glad to talk to anyone and answer any further questions.

Motion by Mary-Ann Sullivan to adjourn at 6:15. Seconded by Frank Hwang. All in Favor. Roll Call Vote: Sullivan – Aye, Hwang – Aye, Clark – Aye.

Respectfully Submitted,

Roseann Vozella Clark